Johnson Wins SRIA Seat

Published on Wednesday, November 9, 2022

Johnson Wins SRIA Seat

Johnson Wins SRIA Seat

Political newcomer Jeremy Johnson won the Santa Rosa Island Authority seat over longtime incumbent Thomas Campanella by a 72 vote margin.

The seat, which is the only elected position on the six member board, is contested every two years in a non-partisan race. Candidates must be Pensacola Beach residents and the race appears only on the Precinct 94 ballot.  McGuire Martin served as the first elected representative winning the 1983 election. He was followed by Michael O’Donovan, George Eckes, Andrew Gigi, Scott Amberson and Thomas Campanella, who was elected in 2002. Campanella was challenged in 2006 and 2014, but remained unopposed until Johnson unseated him in the 2022 election.

Johnson, 40, thanked his campaign team and all those who voted for him. 

“I am really proud of everything that we did and everything that we stand for,” commented Johnson after the election results were posted. “I am looking forward to really focusing and listening to the leaseholders and working on the issues that will lead to improvements in their quality of life.”

Escambia County’s Canvassing Board meets Friday, November 18 to certify the election, so Johnson’s first SRIA meeting will be Wednesday, December 7.


Bender Beats Van Hoose in Commission Race

Incumbent Robert Bender will return as the Escambia County Commissioner in District 4, which includes Pensacola Beach. Bender earned 63.67% of the votes. He was first elected in 2018 when he outpaced a large field of candidates in the primary. In 2022, he was challenged by Stan McDaniels in the primary; and Democrat Myra Van Hoose in the General Election.  

Commissioner Bender appoints one member of the Santa Rosa Island Authority Board. His current appointee is Liz Callahan.

Election Results (as of 11/09/2022)

Santa Rosa Island Authority

Thomas Campanella 850

Jeremy Johnson 922

Escambia County Commission District 4

Robert Bender (R) 16, 989

Myra Van Hoose (D) 9,735

State Representative District 2

Alex Andrade (R) 31,340

Carollyn Taylor (D) 21,086

State Senator

Doug Broxson (R) 74,502

Charlie Nichols (D) 40,156

Commissioner of Agriculture

Wilton Simpson (R) 73,436

Naomi Blemur (D) 40,412

Chief Financial Officer

Jimmy Patronis (R) 73,684

Adam Hattersley (D) 39,784

Attorney General

Ashley Moody (R) 75,535

Aramis Ayala (D) 39,200


Ron DeSantis (R) 74,549

Charlie Crist (D) 40,030

Representative in Congress

Matt Gaetz (R) 67,280

Rebekah Jones (D) 46,713

U.S. Senator

Marco Rubio (R) 73,166

Val Demings (D) 40,741

Rate this article:
No rating
Number of views (267)